How to request items to blog

Being a new to the scene blogger is terrifying.  You are a ‘little fish’ in a big pond.  Get over it. You’re like everyone else, and surprise we all are scared to send requests to blog items.  What?  Yep.  Why?  Well, humans are afraid of negatives, and take even a no personally.  One of the strongest lessons you will ever learn in life is being able to tell people no.  For your own sanity, to keep your goals in line, and to be happy.  It’s a word we are afraid of.  But remember the saying  “The worst they can say is No.”. Don’t be afraid of the no.  Craft a well written request.  State your business right away.  Who, What, Where, How.

Hi, I was recently in your store, and wanted to contact you to let you know I blog fashion and events on Virtually Dressed https://virtuallydressed.wordpress.com/.  I would love  the opportunity to blog (state what you want: example your store/new release/specific outfit).  Please let me know what your bloggers policy is.  It’s been a delight to find you.  (be honest, not smarmy.  Yes sometimes I do find it a delight

)

Whimsy Winx
Virtually Dressed
https://virtuallydressed.wordpress.com/

That probably wasn’t the best I could do, but I’m mentally already focused on what I want to communicate to you here, and my heavy to be blogged folder at the moment.  This is a quick post to inspire you to step out of your shell and help you promote you.

Consider your blog and your blogging style. You might review, showcase, style blog, etc.  So please be careful when you ask for review copies, when you want to style blog.  I would leave review as a word out if it.  Review might scare off a designer if you aren’t going to be actually be reviewing but instead showcasing.  Be confident in your request.  Be willing to drop it on a content creator, and let it go.  If you don’t hear from them ever again, don’t be upset, just let it go.  If you get a ‘no’ response, don’t be upset.  Be gracious.  You may or may not be given the reason. Whatever the case you can’t force the issue.  You might not be right now, but you might be given an opportunity later.  I might feel the need to elaborate on this later and do another post, I am open to tips from other bloggers and or designers being posted here for helpful advice.  Remember HELPFUL ADVICE. 😉  We’re a community whether we like it or not and its time to make it work.

I can wear my hair now?      BTW if you are reading this and didn’t know, Hair Fair 2010, Designers United 4,  Project Donate, and Wear Gray.  Go Blog!

9 thoughts on “How to request items to blog

  1. What a great post!! I am sure that new bloggers will find this invaluable .. I sure would have when I started! AND coming from such an established blogger it is like a breath of fresh air. Hope you do more like these.

  2. These are things as bloggers we discuss all the time, great post. Also don’t be fooled into thinking that us oldbies don’t request either, or that we don’t fear rejection just as much. The best thing to do is be genuine in your desire to blog and that will ring through, if you don’t get items you asked for still try and blog the store.

    In the early days if I came across something I just wanted people to see I would ask for the vendor ad, ore even just mention it in the post, and let curiousity carry people over.

    A store I did that with in the past went on to add me to their bloggers list for years, it was not a trick or a way of getting in, they had created something that was deserving of praise.

    Also find your niche, if you don’t get sent things as often as you like, find ways to feature/showcase things you may have already blogged in the past in new and interesting ways.

    Anyway Whimsy and I could natter on about this forever lol

    xoxSasyxox

  3. I know you specifically asked for helpful advice but having never requested items to blog, I regret that I have none to offer. I do however have a question.

    Where does one draw the line on this? I’ve witnessed bloggers requesting designers’ entire clothing/skin/footwear lines so “I can choose what I want to blog.”

    That’s a bit much, I think. More and more I’m seeing “I don’t give out review items” in designers’ profiles and I can’t say that I blame them. Designers are running a business; blogging is a hobby. And droves of SL residents, by the hundreds, have taken up that hobby.

    I can only imagine well established creators receive these requests non-stop, all. day. long. That would make me cranky enough to update my profile, too. “NO REVIEW ITEMS, DAMMIT!”

    Where should a blogger draw the line in how many designers they request items from? Should they ask for everything that catches their attention? Or should there be a limit on how much they ask for and how many requests they make?

    Also, as a blogger, I think it’s human nature to be a bit put off by someone who ignores your request or flat-out tells you “no.” Say “don’t be upset” all you want but I feel it’s perfectly normal to feel a little bitter about it. And then what? You’ll never want to shop in that store again.

    Designer ignores you. You feel put off. You tell all your friends. They become bitter in support of you. Word spreads resulting in loss sales. Perhaps that’s rare and a bit extreme, but it’s a slippery slope to be sure.

    I’m genuinely curious how designers feel about this. My thought process has always been, if I can’t afford it, I can’t blog it. Meh.

    1. If I were an established designer I would probably give review copies to each blogger the first few times they made a request, and would continue to give copies to those who blogged my designs.

      Designers that don’t give out review copies to bloggers miss out on sales from those of us that are blog shoppers. I scan one or two fashion feeds for what catches my eye and then go look at it in world.

      Although this post is directed towards bloggers, I would like to stick something in for the creators that read it. Shops also need:
      1) good display ads – if the designer doesn’t look attractive in her own design I won’t purchase it.
      2) good shop lighting – if I can’t see a design easily in the shop, I won’t buy it.

      This is an excellent post 🙂

    1. @Perion Leominster

      I think asking for an entire store is too much, but it depends on what you mean on “line”. If I am inquiring about a skin, yes, I would like the entire line, not just one makeup. Giving the blogger that entire line is good buisness as they can wear each of the makeups. When I refer to a line, I mean all the makeups in a chosen (bloggers choice) skin tone or ALL of the skin tones within the particular skin style (named line).

      Giving an entire release is an option to bloggers that might be nice to request. Asking a designer to please add you to their bloggers list/group if they have one, or to consider you for sending their new releases to. IF they accept, please blog them, its a timely thing, not a one off of stock that’s been in the store awhile.

      Never bad mouth a designer publicly. If you have an issue with them about perms, customer service, talk to them. Tell them why you feel the way you do. If you notice they have misplaced a prim part, the textures gone wonky, etc. Send them an IM/Notecard right away, so they have the opportunity to correct it. IF you don’t like their store, then don’t shop there. Your friends and reader have the right to shop, and make up their own minds. Remember, designers “level up” regularly, don’t bite the hands that feed. Designers, please remember, we don’t work for you, we are under no obligation if you drop items on us, but we SHOULD blog if we DID request it. We will showcase/style the item in the way we want on our blog.

Leave a Reply

